About Me…

I made a theme change and just realized my “About” page disappeared!  So, here goes…

My name is John Contabile, and my goal with this blog is to search out the beliefs, traditions and practices of the early church, specifically within the first three centuries AD. 

I expect to spend most of my time in the writings of the New Testament, with occasional forays into historical and extra-biblical works.  Of course, I have an agenda, so I may as well confess it up front.  I am specifically looking for the teachings and practices of the earliest church, the essential church, the simple church, in order to discern how current church teaching and practice has evolved over the centuries and across cultures.  I seek to find such evidence as it presents itself and pass this on in an easily accessible format.

I am a Christian, and enthusiastically confess the Apostle’s Creed.

I have an earned Bachelor of Arts degree in Biblical Studies with an emphasis in Biblical Languages (Magna Cum Laude), and a Certificate in New Testament Studies at the graduate level.  My main interests lie in New Testament interpretation, exegetical method, discourse analysis, oral tradition, early church practice and the history surrounding the early church.  As I am not a professional, so I will happily receive encouraging words of correction should the need arise. 

A little more about me: I am a husband, a father and a grandfather.  I have proudly served my country as a United States Marine.  I currently work as a Real Estate Agent in southern California.  I am a hardcore Pittsburgh Steelers fan. 

Thanks for reading my blog, and feel free to comment as you see fit…I look forward to it!

You may also contact me by e-mail at: jcontabile2000@yahoo.com

Blessings to you in Christ Jesus!

Leave a Reply

